City of San Antonio



MINUTES

Planning Commission

Development and Business Services
Center
1901 South Alamo

Wednesday, October 20, 2021

9:00 AM

Videoconference

Planning Commission Technical Advisory Committee

Livestream: www.sanantonio.gov/DSD/Boards/MeetingVideos
Telephone Access: 210 206 5483
NO IN PERSON PUBLIC ACCESS TO THIS MEETING. READ BELOW FOR
MULTIPLE WAYS TO PARTICIPATE AND PROVIDE COMMENT.

The Planning Commission Technical Advisory Committee (PCTAC) is a subcommittee that advises the Planning Commission on matters as requested by the Commission. Members of the PCTAC are appointed by the Planning Commission.

To protect the health of the public and limit the potential spread of COVID 19, the Planning Commission (PC) will hold this meeting via videoconference. These meeting standards are based upon the various suspended provisions of the Open Meetings Act issued by the Texas Governor in response to the COVID 19 crisis. These modified standards shall remain in place until furthernotice or until the state disaster declaration expires or is otherwise terminated by the Texas Governor. To watch and listen to this meeting, visit www.sanantonio.gov/DSD/Boards/MeetingVideos. To listen to audio only, call 210 206 LIVE (5483).

Public Comment

Members of the public may provide comment on any agenda item, consistent with procedural rules governing the Planning Commission meetings and state law. Public comment may also be provided as follows:

- 1. Submit written comments by email or mail by Tuesday, October 19, 2021 by 8am to the case manager or drop off written comments at 1901 S Alamo by Tuesday, October 19, 2021 by 8am. Please include your full name, home or work address, item # and/or address of the request. Written comments will be part of the official written record only.
- 2. Leave a voice message of a maximum of two minutes by dialing 210206(PLNG)7564 by Tuesday, October 19, 2021 by 8am. Your message will be played during the meeting. Please include your full name, home or work address, item # and/or address of the request.
- 3. Sign up to give your comments live during the meeting by leaving your name, telephone number, and item on which you would like to speak on at 210206(PLNG)7564. City staff will call you when your item is up for discussion but cannot guarantee a specific time after 9 am. Once you join the call, you will be given two minutes to provide your comments.

*Note: Written comments, voicemails, and request to make comments during the live meeting must bereceived by Tuesday October 19, 2021 at 8am to give time for translation.

9:00 A.M. Call to Order

Roll Call:

<u>Present</u>: George Peck, Connie Gonzalez, Julia Carrillo Haynes, Robert Sipes, Seth Teel, Maria, Cruz, Susan Wright, Ashley Farrimond, Juan Fernandez, Cara Tackett, Ryan Plagens, Armando Niebla, Ken Brown, Michael Taylor, Robert Hanley, Monica Savino, Erik Estrada, Phillip Manna, Deborah Reid, Brittany Dale, Joe Nix, Michael Moore

<u>Absent</u>: John Jackson, Gayle McDaniel, Allison Cohen, Melinda Smith, Bob Liesman, Robert Tapia, Jody Sherrill

<u>City Staff</u>: Michael Shannon, Melissa Ramirez, Monique Mercado, Logan Sparrow, Lauren Chavez, Valerie Huerta- Rodriguez, Riley Boesiger, Catherine Hernandez, Thomas Filopoulos, Susan Guinn

New Business

1. Nominations and elections for Chair and Vice Chair.

Logan Sparrow, Policy Administrator, opened nominations for Chair.

Committee Member Robert Hanley nominate George Peck for Chair, seconded by Committee Member Connie Gonzalez.

No other nomination was submitted.

A unanimous verbal vote was taken.

AYES: Peck, Gonzalez, Carrillo Haynes, Sipes, Teel, Wright, Farrimond, Fernandez, Tackett, Plagens, Niebla, Brown, Taylor, Hanley, Savino, Estrada, Manna, Reid, Dale,

Nix, Moore NAYS: None

MOTION CARRIED

<u>Logan Sparrow</u>, Policy Administrator, open nominations for Vice Chair.

Committee Member George Peck nominate Julia Carrillo Haynes for Vice Chair, seconded by Committee Member Connie Gonzalez.

No other nomination was submitted.

A unanimous verbal vote was taken.

AYES: Peck, Gonzalez, Carrillo Haynes, Sipes, Teel, Wright, Farrimond, Fernandez, Tackett, Plagens, Niebla, Brown, Taylor, Hanley, Savino, Estrada, Manna, Reid, Dale,

Nix, Moore NAYS: None

MOTION CARRIED

2. Discussion and Briefing of the 2021 UDC Amendment Process.

<u>Logan Sparrow</u>, Policy Administrator, briefed committee members on the UDC process and presented the TAC Calendar. He stated UDC Process information is being advertise in several different methods. They have posted information on social media, holding community meetings, and held DSD Academy's to educate and explain the process.

Committee Member discussed the UDC Meeting calendar

Old Business

3. Approval of minutes from the April 12, 2021 meeting.

MOTION CARRIED

A motion was made by Committee Member Hanley and seconded by Committee Member Manna to approve minutes as presented.

AYES: Peck, Gonzalez, Carrillo Haynes, Sipes, Teel, Cruz, Wright, Farrimond, Fernandez, Tackett, Plagens, Niebla, Brown, Taylor, Hanley, Savino, Estrada, Manna, Reid, Dale, Nix, Moore

NAYS: None

MOTION CARRIED

4. ADJOURNMENT.

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 10:01 am

APPROVED

George Peck, Chairman

ATTEST:

Logan Sparrow, Executive Secretary